Whenever we are out for Lunch or Dinner with my Sister in Law’s family, the first thing she would order is Chicken Clear soup till the rest course is finalised. And then when the soups arrives, I rather find it surprising when I see my Sister in Law, her 4 year old daughter and her husband relishing the soup! Like Clear Soup really!!! Surprised to the fact that me, my husband and ofcourse my toddler joining the team are not very big fan of soup especially when it comes to clear soups! So I always find it a bit sceptical when I see people enjoying their bowl of hot clear soup!

Well, with this recipe I believe I have started loving soups owing to its health benefits and ease of cooking! Not always though! This bowl of steaming hot soup can be served before lunch or dinner…winter and rainy evenings are a perfect match! Well for soup lovers like my Sister in Law it’s a anytime dig on recipe! Try out my version of the classic chicken clear soup recipe and I’m sure you are surely gonna enjoy!
Preparation Time : 20 minutes

Serves : 4-5 persons

Ingredients :

Chicken : 250 grams

Bay leaf / Tejpatta :  1

Cinnamon / Dalchini : 1 stick

Cardamom / Elaichi  :  2

Cloves / Laung  : 3-4

Whole Pepper corns / Kali mirch sabut :  1 teaspoon

Coriander / Dhania seeds : 1 teaspoon

Ginger Garlic paste / Adrakh Lasun paste : 1 tablespoon

Onion : 1 large

Green chillies : 2-3 (optional)

Carrot :  1 medium (optional)

Cabbage : 1 cup  (optional)

Salt as per taste

Water as required

Fresh Coriander / Dhania patta : 1 small bunch

Lemon juice :  2 tablespoons

Refined / Olive oil : 1 tablespoon

Method :

In a pressure cooker heat oil. Add in the bay leaf, cinnamon, cardamom, cloves, pepper corns, coriander seeds, ginger, garlic, green chillies, onions, carrot, cabbage, salt, chicken and 3 cups water. Saute for 2-3 minutes till the onion caramelises and then pressure cook for 5-6 whistles. Turn off the heat and let the pressure subside.

Now remove the meat from the chicken pieces using a fork and your hand. Be careful as the chicken pieces will be hot. Put the boneless or shredded chicken in a bowl and keep aside.
Strain rest of the soup using a strainer and again put it back in the cooker. Add in the boneless chicken bits. Turn on the heat and boil for the strained soup for another 5-10 minutes. Remove from heat. Add in the chopped  coriander and lemon juice.Mix well.

Serve hot in a soup bowl. Relish as an appetizer or serve with brown bread, roti or steamed rice to relish as a full meal!

